NaNoWriMo

No, I didn’t just smash my fist down on the keyboard to come up with a blog post title. NaNoWriMo is the abbreviation for “National Novel Writing Month”. This is a really cool idea that my daughter discovered and this year I am taking the challenge.

NaNoWriMoThe challenge set forth by the fine people at The Office of Letters and Light is to write 50,000 words of an original novel in 30 days during the month of November. Of course I plan to be an overachiever and my goal is going to be 60k words, or 2,000 words a day. Then again, we know what happens to the best-laid plans of mice and men.

I have added a cool little graphic to my blog that will show my progress in November. The NaNoWriMo website (http://nanowrimo.org) has a lot of great resources and ways to connect to others participants to help you achieve your goal. If you are in the process of writing a book, or would like to give it a try, I wold highly recommend checking out NaNoWriMo. If you are a member of NaNoWriMo, let me know, As I am tracking my progress during November I would love to from others on how they are doing also.

For those astute readers that caught my mention of my daughter let me take this moment to brag about her, like any good parent is bound to do. I have two daughters, both are amazing and have their own set of special skills. My oldest is an avid reader and an aspiring writer. Although I have always had a desire to write a book, it was through watching her love of reading and pursuit of writing that has inspired me to get off my backside and do it myself. I am hoping that through my journey of writing that I can both encourage her to do all she wants and, at the same time, prove to myself that I can do it. As for my younger daughter, she is amazing also and I am sure I will speak of her talents at another time.

So, here is your homework. Go check out NaNoWriMo (linked above and on the right side of my blog) and see if you want to take the challenge. Oh, before I forget, NaNoWriMo is a not-for-profit organization so feel free to donate to them if you feel they are a worthy cause, then again who wouldn’t think inspire kids and adults to read and write was a worthy cause.

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. I, too, will be doing NaNoWriMo for the first time. I’m looking forward to the challenge. Feel free to add me as a buddy. My screen name is DJ in Florida.

What's on your mind?

