Goodreads, what a gold mine of information!

goodreads_f4Ok, I admit it, I am late to the party on this one. I have heard about Goodreads for quite some time now and I’m finally discovering it for myself. Better late than never, I guess.

For those like me that have not used this site before here is an overview of what it is. From the sites about us page:

Goodreads is the world’s largest site for readers and book recommendations. Our mission is to help people find and share books they love. Goodreads launched in January 2007.

I am happy to say that the site offers it’s services for free and signing up is easy. Once you are signed in you can connect with friends either through your email contact lists or Facebook. By connecting to friends you can share recommendations and you can see each others book lists and reviews.

The site also has community groups so you can connect with readers with similar tastes, I have not used that feature much yet and will review that at a later time. But the thought of finding more books that fit my interests in exciting.

Now before you start to think this is a paid advertisement, let me say that I am just another user of the program but because I just got hooked up on the site I am fully in the honeymoon faze of the relationship. At this point I find the interface to be easy and very user friendly. I could see the downside that all the reviews are user provided, so with no editorial board on what gets published it can lead to some abuse and miss leading reviews, but I am willing to take the reviews at face value. Of course, when you connect to friends who’s opinions you trust, their reviews can be very helpful.

So I recommend you go check this out and if you sign up feel free to add me as a friend and we can share reviews and recommendations. My username is ArphaxadFL (can you believe someone already had Arphaxad?). I look forward to connecting with more readers.

Until next time…

One thought on “Goodreads, what a gold mine of information!

  1. I’ve been on GR for four years. Before that I was constantly at a loss for what to read next… I think I can safely say I’ll never have that problem again. It’s definitely one of my favorite sites on the internet.

What's on your mind?

