6 weeks until NaNoWriMo

6 weeks, or 42 days, until National Novel Writing Month begins and I feel like Oscar from Armageddon:

OscarGreat, I got that “excited/scared” feeling. Like 98% excited, 2% scared. Or maybe it’s more – It could be two – it could be 98% scared, 2% excited but that’s what makes it so intense, it’s so – confused. I can’t really figure it out.

I have been looking forward to this even for some time now and as it is getting closer my mind keeps questioning if I am going forward in the right direction. I mean, once it starts and I am pounding out the words, I won’t be able to second guess my storyline to start over in the middle of it. I need to make sure I have a good storyline idea that I can use for the entire 50k words.

My plan at the moment is to go with a fantasy story that I have been plotting. It has a good message and a fun cast of characters that I feel can easily fill 100k words, so 50k for NaNo should be fine. I am still working on the main plot and several subplots I would like to include, so I have a solid story idea to work on and plenty of time to flesh it out.

But, there is also this larger story line I have sitting on the side line. I look at it as my serious, publisher worthy novel. It has an awesome concept to it that I feel is original and the main plot is going to be amazing (if my ability to write is up to the challenge). I have worked on some of the history and back story for the people and culture of that story, but have put it on the side to work on the NaNo project. The reason I am not choosing to work on this book is because I need more time to research and develop the world it will take place in, it is also a fantasy novel.

Too-Many-QuestionsI have recently been questioning if I should be delaying the second story that I see as being my real publishing worthy novel. But what if I rush it and ruin the opportunity to do it right? This is all just too much pressure. I think at the end of the day I will be going with my first instinct and doing storyline one and saving my opus for later when I can give it the love and care it needs to be great.

Thank you for listening to me ramble on. If you are participating in NaNoWriMo this year add me to your buddy list, Arphaxad. If you have your story plot picked out for NaNo already and would like to share it, I would love to hear it.

Also, has anyone ever use NaNoWriMo to write a short story anthology? Not that I want to do that this year, but it was an idea I had tossed around at one point and may want to consider for next year.

Have a happy Friday everyone!

Until next time…

6 thoughts on “6 weeks until NaNoWriMo

  1. Does a short story anthology count for NaNoWriMo, since it is not a novel?
    I don’t know. I’m a novice when it comes to NaNoWriMo, but I think it sounds like a fun plan. And, the point of NaNoWriMo is to get us to write, so I think it could be fun.

  2. I love the idea of NaNoWriMo. I hate the timing of it. November was always a bad month for me, whether because of school or holidays. I’ve attempting NaNo once or twice, but never actually in November. I just keep myself on the hard deadline of a more relaxed month.

    Unfortunately, because of that, I’ve never gotten involved in the community.

    1. The choice of November did surprise me, but when my wife and I were discussing that she made a great point. November is when school kids have down town for Thanksgiving break and not distracted by Christmas yet. Their brains are active by school and their teachers can even encourage them to participate, as NaNo does work with schools to do this.

      I like your idea of doing your own NaNo, and may actually do that some other month. I think the community involvement in November is one of the things I am looking forward to though.

      Thanks for stopping by. If you decide to try NaNo in November add me as a buddy on the NaNo site.

What's on your mind?

