Every writer should bookmark this site

No, I’m not talking about my blog, not that I would stop you from doing so. I am talking about Novel-Writing-Help. I am always looking for information about what ever activity I am involved in, not to mention the fact that my formal education is in computer programming and network administration, so I have a lot to learn about writing a novel.

NWH_LogoI came across Novel-Writing-Help early in my adventure and it has had a huge impact already. The author of the site is Harvey Chapman and as he puts it:

To be honest, though, my writing career has always been sidetracked by a passion for the theory of how to write fiction.

He started his site with a desire to share his knowledge of the theory of writing a novel, and I am thankful that he has.

The site is easy to navigate and has a ton of information for you to explore. You can go clicking around and get lost for hours with the amount of information, but what i suggest is to start with his link How to Write a Novel Step by Step. This gives you a great step by step plan to writing a novel (bet you wouldn’t guess that by the links name) and from there you will find links to relevant articles as you get to that step of the plan.

Now this leads me to one of my concerns with the site, there is too much information. I find that there is so many links to really good information that I can easily get side tracked and lost form the original path. All I have to say is, thank God for tabbed browsers.

I would like to highlight one specific section, Hot To Plot A Novel. Harvey Chapman offers you a 10 step plotting method that makes a lot of sense and is easy to follow. Like other steps in writing a novel detailed on this site, there are a lot of extra links to detailed information.

If you are planning on participating in NaNoWriMo there is plenty of time for you to browse this site and take plenty of notes to help you hit your goal.

I would like to give a big thank you to Harvey Chapman and I look forward to making plenty of use of his site.

Until next time…

What's on your mind?

