NaNoWriMo distractions

Stop me if you’ve heard this one before. “National Novel Writing Month starts in November and I have too many things planned for that month to make it work.”

This is not a statement I am going to make, I believe that if you really want to do something you will find the time to do it. Remember, Nikola Tesla only had 24 hours a day to accomplish all that he did.

I have said this before, but it bares repeating, I am excited about NaNoWriMo starting in just over a month. I am knee deep in plotting and character building, and I am loving every minute of it. Then I started to look at my calendar to see where I would need to write extra to build a cushion for other events and that’s when I saw the mess in November.

My family and I are big movie goers, it is a family event that we treat ourselves to, and November is a busy month for movies. We are looking forward to “Ender’s Game” November 1st and then “Thor: The Dark World” on November 8th. We will see those on the Saturday of their opening, so that is the first two Saturdays of NaNo spent at the theater and not in front of my keyboard. Of course there is also “Catching Fire” on November 22nd and now 3 of the 5 Saturdays in November are half used at the movies.

Now in the grand scheme of things, we go to a matinee, so we would be home with half a day left for writing. What concerns me is that I was hoping to use Saturdays to sleep in and write late to cover for working 40 hours Mon-Fri and Church on Sundays, but that does not look like it will happen. Instead I will have to find a way to do more than my 2k a day goal during the week.

nanowrimo2Last thing to factor in, Thanksgiving and Football. The NFL is my favorite reality TV show and November is the playoff push, not that Buccaneer fans need to worry about that too much (that hurt to say), but I enjoy watching all the football I can. Then there is the hosting of family for Thanksgiving, a lot of cooking, eating and cleaning is involved in that.

But with all that said, I will complete my goal of 50k – 60k words in the 30 days of November. How will I do this you ask? Because I will make it a priority to do so. My family will get my attention, my faith will get my attention and then my writing will get my attention. I will have to cut down on some other activities that I enjoy, but I will make NaNoWriMo a priority knowing how rewarding it will feel to reach that goal.

I hope all of you who plan to participate in NaNoWriMo will do a checklist of your priorities and determine where NaNo falls on that list. If it is high enough, you can achieve it. Good luck to all of you who take on this challenge and we will talk more about it before it happens.

Until next time…

13 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo distractions

    1. Thank you. My family always comes first and I love the fact they are fully supporting me in NaNoWriMo. I could not do it without them, and in fact, my oldest daughter is attempting NaNo with me… how cool is that?

  1. I totally get it. It is a commitment that one makes. I am the NaNoWriMo municipal liaison for my area, so it is crucial I make my goal! Everything comes down to focus, for me. If I prepare well, as you have done and are doing, it will all go well. My book this year is a sci-fi work, featuring two characters from a previously published shortstory. Good luck and happy writing! I am Dragon_Fangirl on NaNo – I would be happy to be a writing buddy!

  2. Hey there! Thanks for stopping by my blog today. I’ll add you as a buddy on NaNo and we can encourage each other. You seem much further ahead than me already with your planning and goals!
    And I too have a busy November – my parents will be visiting from the UK for a week for my birthday so that whole week will probably be a write off! My son’s birthday is the week before mine. Taking both children to their scheduled activities, working a 40hr week and still doing everything to keep the house running! I’m beginning to question what I have gotten myself into. But my husband is supportive so I know he will encourage me and allow me the time I need to concentrate on writing during the month November. Good luck!!

  3. Wow, you began early. I just signed up (as you know). Right now just the main plot idea is kicking my behind… but this morning I caught the tip of an idea and I’m hoping after work tonight I can have a few minutes of quiet to develop it into a good possibility for the 50,000+ words to write in November!

    I’ve enjoyed reading your other posts, too. And no, I am most definitely NOT a feminist… and I think there is a shortage of “good” men out there, most likely influenced by feminism. I have met quite a few “real men” the past two years, which gives me hope for the future.

What's on your mind?

