Book Review: Killing Floor

KillingFloorCoverKilling Floor by Lee Child

Rating: 6/10

I have finally decided to take on reading the Jack Reacher series, I know, Lee Child has 18 books out in this series and I am just starting book 1. After many good reviews, and a recommendation from friends, my wife and I decided to give it a try. I am a fan of thrillers from Tom Clancy, Vince Flynn and Brad Thor, so the Reacher series should be right up my ally.

I will start to say that Killing Floor was all it was supposed to be, and more. It had plenty of mystery, killing and bad guys threatening to do bad things. I did have a bit of surprise at the depth of the mystery. Most of these action thrillers use a thin plot to run along and leave a trail of bodies with, but Killing Floor uses an intricate storyline as it’s reason for it’s body count.

The story is written in first person, it gives it a “Burn Notice” feel as you get to hear Jack Reacher think through each situation and he explains why he is doing what ever it is he is planning to do.

I was a bit worried at first, the reason for Jack Reacher to be where he was, and the reason for him to be involved, came across a bit unlikely and I was prepared for Lee Child to use a thin story line just to get to the killing, but then he provided a lot of twists that provided the depth I like.

I also had concern for the slow feel to the pace of the book. It often felt like a movie script that needed to be filled in to become a book. A lot of description and Jack spends a lot of extra time going over and over details, making it feel like Lee Child needed to increase his word count for his publisher. Over all though, this level of detail helped to build the suspense and it did not take away from the book as a whole.

Over all I enjoyed reading Killing Floor. Even with some minor issues with technique or bloat I will continue the series, I have heard that the ability of Lee Child gets better with each book.

Book Synopsis:

Killing Floor is the first book in the internationally popular series about Jack Reacher, hero of the new blockbuster movie starring Tom Cruise. It presents Reacher for the first time, as the tough ex-military cop of no fixed abode: a righter of wrongs, the perfect action hero. Jack Reacher jumps off a bus and walks fourteen miles down a country road into Margrave, Georgia. An arbitrary decision he’s about to regret. Reacher is the only stranger in town on the day they have had their first homicide in thirty years.The cops arrest Reacher and the police chief turns eyewitness to place him at the scene. As nasty secrets leak out, and the body count mounts, one thing is for sure. They picked the wrong guy to take the fall.

I would recommend this book for any reader that enjoys Tom Clancy and that type of thrillers, I will be continuing on to book 2 in the series, “Die Trying”.

Until next time…

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Killing Floor

What's on your mind?

