Rewards for #NaNoWriMo

As the days of October keep marching along and November 1st gets closer and closer, many of us are checking off our list of things to do before NaNoWriMo begins. We plotted out story, fleshed out our characters (unless your doing a zombie story and then maybe you decayed yours a bit), we’ve scouted out where and when to write, we’ve connected with writing buddies on the NaNoWriMo site.

Johnny_Rockets_LogoThe next thing on my list is to decide on a suitable reward. Ok, I can hear you all now, “completing 50k words in 30 days and having a manuscript is a reward”, and I won’t disagree with you on that. The reward I am talking about is the one for your supporters. In my case, I have two lovely daughters (1 of whom is participating) and a beautiful wife standing next to me cheering me on, or kicking me in the butt, which ever I need at the moment. I know I won’t be able to complete my 50k words without their help, so I need to have a reward that we can all enjoy.

We have decided on Johnny Rockets as out family reward. There is nothing like a fun dinner out where the family can sit and talk and not have to worry about cooking or cleaning. Besides, Johnny Rockets has great burgers and milkshakes. I love the 50’s style atmosphere they try to recreate, and the bright lights make it easy to interact with your family.

To achieve this reward not only do I need to write 50k words in 30 days, but my oldest daughter, who is participating, has pledged to do the same. So both of us need to complete the NaNoWriMo challenge in order for our family to go out and enjoy Johnny Rockets. Not an easy task, but I believe we can do it.

So do you have a reward planned? A celebration to show those that supported you through the madness of NaNoWriMo that you appreciate their help? A way to release the stress after pounding out 50k+ words in 30 days?

Until next time…

11 thoughts on “Rewards for #NaNoWriMo

  1. Great now I want a cheeseburger. Thanks a lot!
    Seriously I think that is a great idea – and also a nice thank you to the family for their support. The rest of my NaNoPrep may consist of figuring out what that reward is (a weekend of baking cookies?) and also thinking about putting together a soundtrack for writing – again something I never really thought about. Darn the internet and its suggestions!

  2. I added you as a writing buddy. You’re my first as I’m still unfamiliar with this feature.
    My reward is that I’m going to buy the finisher’s T-Shirt and on December 1 I will wear it to church for everyone to see! If all goes well, I’ll be wearing it for a week afterwards. I think wearing it will be a huge reward for me.
    Also, a few friends of mine plan on writing together on the 30th and going out for drinks when we finish. It will be our own mini-NaNo party.

  3. Oh man, it’s been ages since I have had that place. Now I want a urger.

    I have no idea what my reward will be. Possibly getting pretty art done for my book, I think. Because c’mon, who doesn’t love pretty things?

  4. I love that you are rewarding your supporters with a fun family out! Both you and your daughter will keep cheering each other on and I think that is awesome! Plus, a fabulous place to eat! 🙂 What could be better? Good luck!

What's on your mind?

