My #NaNoWriMo diet

Another step in my planning process for @NaNoWriMo is to plan for my snack food. I mean, you can’t expect to stay focused on an empty stomach. But planning a month of snack food causes a problem for me. You see, about 17 weeks ago I decided it was time for me to get back into shape and loose a lot of weight, my goal is to loose 90 pounds. So far so good, I am down 38 pounds. I estimate that I should be about halfway to my goal once November arrives.

I already knew that with Thanksgiving in November, Christmas in December and New Years day being family meal traditions, it was going to be tough to show any kind of weight loss. Now I am adding in a month long writing marathon that will lend itself to encouraging snacking. Now you can see why I am concerned.

Knowing this, I am trying to plan to keep a good selection of healthy snacks on hand to keep me fueled, filled and healthy through NaNoWriMo. Top of my list is grapes and bananas. Both are healthy, delicious and provide good energy boosts. I want to make sure I maintain a good protein level so peanuts and an occasional hard boiled egg will be on the menu. Low iron levels can cause drowsiness so roman lettuce, bell peppers and cucumbers will be a typical salad mix for me. I will have to decide on a good finger food, I’m thinking of cheese or peperoni in moderation.

healthy-foodsAnother health issue I have is that I don’t drink caffeine. Long story, but it does not agree with me so I avoid it. So I mostly drink lemonade or water, both of which I prefer ice cold, so I will need to keep a good supply of ice in the freezer.

I will have to add in some sugary snack like cookies, cupcakes or brownies just to add to the experience. The key is to space them out and only use them to mark milestones, maybe every 10k words I get to have a special treat. Of course there is Johnnys Rocket planned for 50k, that is going to the best tasting burger ever.

So what is on your menu of munchies for NaNoWriMo? If your eating healthy, any suggestions? Will you reward yourself at milestones? November is coming fast and I still have to work on my spotify playlist, which I will be posting here soon.

Until next time…

4 thoughts on “My #NaNoWriMo diet

  1. Oh! This weekend, I just found an old, dusty box with a juicer from the 80s that still works perfectly. I juice and apple and 4 or 5 carrots, and maybe half a lemon if I have one around. Fresh juice is so good and healthy!

  2. Y’know, I really hadn’t thought about how to regiment my diet for peak writing, but now I think I should!

    I’m not one for much caffeine either, as I’m not a coffee drinker, but I’m sure I’ll be loading up on tea for most of November. Thinking about making a special writing blend or something on that one website..

    I think yogurt will be my snack of choice. Can’t go wrong with yogurt! Good luck to you on your dieting plans!

  3. Whole wheat crackers (like Wheat Thins) are a favorite of mine for snacking. They fill me up fast. And an apple when I’m craving something sweet, especially since Honeycrisp are in season (at least where I am).

What's on your mind?

