Current WIP

So, stop me if you’ve heard this one before, or if it has ever happened to you.

I wanted to put my NaNoWriMo planning to the side to avoid burnout, and I planned to write a short story to pass the time and hone my skills. That 1,000 word short story has turned into a full length book!

long_scroll

The plot started off simple and the more I thought about it the more I wanted to do with it. Then my basic characters that only needed to have enough depth for a short story started showing me an entire life’s worth of back story and motives.

Now I’m scared I won’t have this story done before November and will have to try it finish it, either along with my NaNo story or sometime in January when the NaNo story is completed.

What kind of mess did I get myself into? Have any of you ever started a short story in hopes of passing time before starting a bigger project, only to have that story become big on its own?

Have you ever stopped writing a story to work on another project, then gotten back to the first story months later? How did that end up for the first story?

Oh well, I’m at least having fun writing this one for now.

Until next time…

4 thoughts on “Current WIP

  1. That’s exactly what I’m doing this year! I spent several months prepping a novel I thought I was going to write this November, and then changed my track half way through. I’m not sure how well it’s going to go, but I have hopes!

    And my own post today offers a bit of an answer to your other question. I thought the story was going to be a fairly simple one, and now I find myself trying to figure out the motivations of the man who poisoned the man who’s getting in the way of the man who killed my main character’s mentor.

    1. Thanks for stopping by. I read your post and I liked to hear how excited you get in plotting your story. That is the excitement I have for my NaNo story, and one of the reasons I put it to the side to save that excitement for November.

  2. I have definitely been in this position before — both with fiction and nonfiction. That’s actually how I got my first book totally finished and professionally published — I started with just a little 11 page term paper, and then just couldn’t stop the research-machine.

    And, something to think about for NaNoWriMo: you can still use this book project as your NaNo project, you just technically aren’t supposed to use any words you’ve already written on it toward your official NaNo word count 🙂

    Good luck!

    1. Thanks for the comment Katherine. The problem with using this story for NaNoWriMo is that the one I have plotted out interests me so much more. The current WIP was only supposed to occupy my time until November. Granted, it has become more interesting and I am having fun writing it, but I am chomping at the bit to get to my NaNo story.

What's on your mind?

