#NaNoWriMo, I see that worried look upon my face.

charlie-brown-sighSo today I hit my first major concern, and it is only day 2 of NaNoWriMo. As mentioned before, I am writing a fantasy story, not based on Earth, and this is where my problem has occured.

Geography plays a major part in the story. I have a castle on one end of the kingdom, a village where my hero lives and forest where the bad guys are. they are all supposed to be sufficiently spread out from each other. So I drew a map. My map looks more like a small city block worth of real estate.

I know I can always adjust the map later, the thing is drawn on my tablet and it is a Galaxy not a stone tablet. Where my concern comes in is, if things are moved too much does some of the relationships among villagers become unrealistic? If there is more land do I need to come up with more village names?

Oh well, I guess that is what December is for 🙂

Until next time…

6 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo, I see that worried look upon my face.

  1. I don’t think that you really NEED more village names, but you may want some when your hero travels from one place to another. Of course, for November, you can just call them Village 1, Village 2, or Northwest Village, or Village with the scary guy with a scar.

    1. Luckily I don’t think the characters will be doing too much site seeing and their travel would only be from point a to point b. But it is only day 2 and we know a writer can’t plan everything their characters do.

  2. You can use placeholders for the village names; the main issue is that most subsistence-level agricultural villages and towns have to have a certain amount of hinterland that support them, so you can’t place them too close together. Geography will further determine the exact distribution of population centers. This will affect the action of the story.

    But lisenminetti is right- for the purposes of NaNoWriMo you don’t want to overthink it. Plow ahead and don’t stop. Fix it later.

    Good luck.

What's on your mind?

