#NaNoWriMo Day 3

nanowrimo2This is incredible. After 8,008 words I have discovered that an add on character has a personality of his own and looks to become a bigger part of my story, how did that happen?

My story really has two stars, Daren the blacksmith and Prince Gerard. The two do not interact much in the beginning but will over come their own obstacles and eventually team up.

I then had to fill out Daren’s family with parents and two siblings, a sister and a brother. No big deal, I just jot down two names and there I have a background family that will be an out of focus prop… wrong. Daren’s little brother Turner has developed a personality and a strong willed one at that. He is fearless and not afraid to speak his mind. This kid is going to do something special, I don’t know what yet, but I just have this feeling he is someone to watch out for.

How did that happen? A background character that was only created to fill in another character’s history is developing into a character I care about and want to see him do things. I mean, I have heard authors say that characters take on a life of their own once you give them a name and a personality, but this is ridiculous. Will all my background characters do this? How will I know when naming a character that I will be writing about them more in the future?

All I have to say is, this is too much fun. The first 8k words have been exhilarating and a challenge. I can’t wait to see what the next 8k brings.

I did get to see Ender’s Game yesterday, very good movie. If you are a fan of the books, the movie is worth seeing. If you have not read the book, my younger daughter, who has not read the book, loved the movie. A more indepth review will be coming soon.

Don’t forget to visit the blogs on the list above. Those NaNoWriMo participants are hard to work creating their stories and can use some words of encouragement like you have been sending me. I have been getting comments here and NaNoMail from writing buddies, and each one has brought a smile to my face, thank you all. Please keep them coming.

Until next time…

7 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo Day 3

    1. not only fun, but a real fascinating part of writing. Who would have thought our characters would do more than we wanted them to, we are the creators, aren’t we?

  1. My third book had a character named Suzanne who I planned to be a secondary character. The story was set in pioneer times and I needed a character to convince my heroine to marry a stranger. Suzanne was supposed to be a woman traveling on the wagon train who was heading West to be a mail order bride.
    Well, in my first draft she was just a secondary character who I didn’t think much about and didn’t plan to use. Until I realized I had written a careless detail about her. She was a widow. Her husband had committed suicide.
    Not a huge detail. But, something that made her interesting.
    In draft two I played with her history a bit. And just like that she became a main character.
    I will actually be self publishing that book next year and in the final version Suzanne is a POV character who the story could not be completed without.
    So, I totally know what you mean. I never planned for her to be anything more then an honorable mention.

      1. Oh yes, I have this character who I am considering to kill after getting so annoying lately. I’ve only wanted him to be the friend of the prince in my story but somehow he started having feelings for my MC and getting his own opinions and reactions out. I’ve always been the type who believed that characters do say thing with their own mouths and not our own so I’m not very surprised as much as confused as what to do with him.

What's on your mind?

