#NaNoWriMo Day 4

Can’t believe it’s only day four and I already feel like I’ve gone 12 rounds with George Foreman, in his boxing days not his old salesmen days. I am excited to be at 12,371 words and the prospect of hitting the 50k goal by the 15th is mindblowing. But I do have to remind myself that this is the first weekend and I need to see what king of pace I can keep up during a normal work week.

All though today is not normal, I have jury duty. OK, those of you who just cringe and feel sorry for me, like you would if I had an appointment with a dentist, stop it right now. No offense to dentists, but I enjoy jury duty. I once served on a jury for a court case that took four days to be heard, it was very fascinating and I hope to get picked for another jury this time around.

I do have my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 with a bluetooth keyboard, so as long as I am not in a courtroom I should be able to get some words written. I am so energized to see the 20k mark that I think I can do it by Tuesday, or Wednesday at the latest. Of course it is a good thing that I am putting up these king of numbers already, I am scared that my story will need 100k or more words to be told and if the writing goes into December it may get pushed back on my list of prioritize.

I know NaNoWriMo is supposed to help build the habit of writing daily, and I hope it does. I am just nervous that when the excitement of NaNoWriMo leaves my house that it will become harder and harder to focus this much on writing. Well, only time will tell and I will do my best to continue the good habits I am making in November into December and beyond.

Also, don’t forget to check out ProjectRUETSway, as they have posted their first weekly challenge. Looks like fun.

I hope the NaNoWriMo word counts are flying for you all, comment and let me know how you are doing. Have fun and NaNo on my friends!

Until next time…

xx_50k

 

13 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo Day 4

    1. Good work. I am also amazed at how the words are just coming to me, not at all how I thought it would be. Even with the good numbers I am doing so far, I still feel like I am letting myelf get distracted and hope to get the numbers even higher as I get more and more focused.

      Keep up the good work!

  1. Congrats!!
    I kind am worried about loosing the habit of daily writing after NaNo especially with my PHd program getting near its start. Hopefully we won’t loose track later.
    100k? I kind of have the feeling my novel is going to be like that too.
    Good luck and keep up the good work 🙂

    1. PHD progrram? Ya, I would say your going to be busy. I know this is an old saying, but it is one that is helping me change my life.

      We make time for the things that are important to us. Check what you are doing and if it is not what you think is important, get doing the things you want to give importance to.

      Good luck with NaNoWriMo and the PHD program.

      1. Thank you. Yes, I understand What you mean I’ve been trying to get my writing going for a while and finally got to it this summer after finishing with my master thesis, I major in computer systems and networks by the way, so I mainly have two priorities: writing and the PHD. I hope to get things going and succeed at both, wish me luck 🙂

  2. Good job on the 12k words! What has helped me as far as maintaining excitement is to form a writing group. The editing part is evil but worthwhile and I found it was near impossible without other eyes.

  3. You are crushing it! I keep watching your word count go up and up. Luckily, I’m highly competitive so your numbers make me want to write more and faster to beat you 😉 Don’t know if that will happen (probably not), but at least I’ll get a book out of it!

What's on your mind?

