#NaNoWriMo Day 6

Man, that was so close. Last night I hit 19,502 words, just 498 from the magical 20k mark and then I got real tired. So I got a good night sleep, woke up this morning ready for a day at the office knowing that tonight I will most definitely go over 20k.

I like milestone goals, you know, little goals you can achieve on your way to larger goals. Of course my big goal is to complete my manuscript and get this book published one way or another. Along the road to that ultimate goal is several milestones, here is my list:

  1. 10k words
  2. 20k words
  3. 25k words
  4. 50k words, #NaNoWriMo WINNER!!!
  5. 75k words
  6. 100k words
  7. Complete first draft
  8. Complete Rewrite
  9. Complete editing
  10. Submit to agents
  11. Publish, either traditionally or self-publishing.

exceed-expectations1I expect the first 7 goals to be the fastest, it is always good to build momentum. The last 4 could take some time, I am hoping that once I have a completed first draft in my hand that I will have all the motivation I need to get through those last 4.

Goal 1 was completed last weekend and goal 2 will be passed tonight. I am committing the energy needed to pass goal 3 and 4 by this weekend, all though I will not be disappointing if 4 takes Monday or Tuesday to hit, I may be optimistic but I am also realistic. I think that by hitting goal 4 and seeing the “winner” label on NaNoWriMo will give me a boost to push through goals 5, 6 and 7 by the end of the month. Again, I am realistic, so I won’t be discouraged if I need part of December to finish the first draft.

This is really exciting stuff. I mean, I had always wanted to write a book but never took it serious. NaNoWriMo has done that, and it is getting my entire family involved which is the best part of the whole thing.

I want to thank all of you who have been commenting on my blog, facebook, twitter or the NaNoWriMo nanomail. It means a lot to me to hear from each and everyone of you. The encouragement and the banter has been awesome and I look forward to seeing you all complete your challenges as much as completing my own. Keep up the good work.

Until next time…

 

4 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo Day 6

  1. Wow, you are doing great! I love your list and I am excited to hear how you accomplish your goals! Keep at it! So proud of you!

    As an aside, it took me 9 months to write my first draft, 2 months to edit it and am now querying agents! If I can do it, so can you!!!! 🙂

    1. Thank you so much Mrs N. It is cheerleaders like you that have helped keep me energized. I like to hear about writers getting their books published through hard work and commitment, it helps keep my dream alive.

  2. Yippy Skippy!! 🙂 Great goals and superb achievement! You are moving at a great pace with a definite course of action, for all that you wish to attain. Wish you all the best and I’ll be in line for one of your first copies. 😀

What's on your mind?

