#NaNoWriMo Day 8

book_of_fantasyWeek 2 of NaNoWriMo starts today. I am about halfway to the NaNoWriMo goal and things are getting exciting.

Looking back at the fact that this is the longest single story I have ever written, and getting longer with every word, the possibility of writing a full length book is becoming more and more real. I’m not delusional, I understand that the first draft is only a part of a big process, but it is the start of a big process. You can’t finish something you don’t start.

Talking to my wife last night we had an observation about writing that I thought needed to be shared. This is the first real attempt either of us has made in to writing a book, so we are both learning this fine art together. We were discussing how characters tend to do things that we did not intend them to do, and that they seem to take on a life of their own once set loose in our story. That’s when we realized:

Our characters are not real people, but they are people.

We give a personality and back story to our characters. If we are honest to ourselves, we do not change those aspects. Sure their personalities may change as their adventure allows them to grow, but just like real people, their personality only changes so much. So once they have these defined personalities and back stories, we place them in a scenario and let them react. Sure, we can change the scenario to get the desired response from the characters, but we should never change their personality in order to get them to do something. The reader will know that we are not being honest and will stop reading.

This is a wonderful art form that we have committed ourselves to being a part of. Story telling has been a part of humanity since the beginning. The more I participate, the more joy I am finding in telling my story. Not to mention the possibility of someone else reading my story and enjoying it, that blows my mind.

So write your words, tell your story, get to know your characters and above all, have fun. Those writing in NaNoWriMo I want you to take a moment and realize how wonderful of an adventure you are on. I hope you then realize what I did, this adventure is so wonderful that I don’t want it to end. Yes, my story will have an end, but there always another story to tell, and that is what I want to never have come to an end.

Until next time…

4 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo Day 8

  1. That picture…. there’s something about it. It’s really magical to me for some reason, it literally gives me a good feeling to look at it. I don’t ever want there to be no more stories to tell either, I love writing too much. I’ve gotten a little attached to the characters I created, so it’s going to be hard on me when crap hits the fan and things start happening to them to keep writing those scenes. Kind of silly but it’s how I feel about it.

What's on your mind?

