#NaNoWriMo Day 9

Group of smiling friends standing against white background and rToday starts the second weekend of NaNoWriMo and all over the world writers are knee deep into their first draft. Many will be gathering for writing marathons and other social events. It is truly amazing for me to see how writing a book, which is normally seen as a solitary art form, is bringing people together.

Right in my own house, my entire family is participating in NaNoWriMo. It started with my oldest daughter trying last year and then I decided to attempt it this year to encourage her. then my younger daughter wanted to get into the fun of NaNoWriMo and lastly I talked my wife into participating. Now we are sitting in the same room writing and celebrating together when any of us hits a milestone.

Then there are the new friends I have made through wordpress. You know who you are, and I am thankful for each and every one of you. It has been a real joy to hear about their NaNo adventures and challenges and triumphs. Then, when they comment on my blog posts or tweets, it is a real encouragement for me to continue pushing.

I have even made some friends through the NaNoWriMo forums and writing buddy program. There is also the local municipal liaisons (ML) setting up events. It is almost impossible to lock yourself in a room and claim you were a part of NaNoWriMo.

All that has been some of the good surprises of NaNoWriMo, there have been some negative surprises. I had oringaly set a goal for myself to loose 10 pounds during November. So far, not off to a good start on that one. Part of it had to do with my first Halloween during my weight loss. Let’s just say that I have eaten more candy than I handed out. I have also found out that my snacking has not been as healthy as I had planned and the worse part is, I am so excited about writing that I have not made the efforts to eat healthy meals and instead fallen back on prepared junk meals. So I need to make a change with my eating starting today. I know it is not too late to make the change and get on track.

Back to a positive surprise, yes I am using the sandwich critique method. I am really enjoying Mozart. Yes, the guy who grew up on Steppenwolf, Metallica and Danzig, is listening to Mozart. I have found I don’t care for the piano arrangements, but anything with a full orchestra is fantastic. The music helps drown out the real world so I can focus on the fantasy world I am creating, and it doesn’t draw my attention like my favorite hits would.

Oh, I did switch music to Rhapsody of Fire when writing my fight scene and that was perfect, thank you Debbie Viguie. I hope to listen to more Rhapsody of Fire this weekend.

I would like to end this post with one last thank you to all of you who honor me by reading my blog and an extra special thank you to those that comment. I believe I would still write this if no one was reading, but it sure does make it a lot easier knowing that you do. Then when I write a blog that causes you to comment, that simply brightens up my day. So, thank you thank you thank you.

Once NaNoWriMo is over I will get back to more book reviews, site reviews, blog spotlights and some new stuff I am tossing around. I hope you enjoy and if you think there is something I could do to make my blog more interesting, please let me know that also.

3 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo Day 9

  1. I love what you said about nanowrimo bringing the world together through writing. I think we have had just in the Salt Lake area we have had over 6 million words written in 9 days. If that’s not powerful I don’t know what is. Some people have said they think nanowrimo is simply creating more bad novels but so what if it is? I can think of worst things someone can spend their time on. Even if you have one moment of clarity, which causes you to think of your life differently that is enough for me to do it every year. Certainly a lot better than scrabooking, embroidery or some other hobby.

    I am so envious of your family all doing it together. That would be so much fun. My sister is a writer but she is more legit than me. She doesn’t like the idea of being rushed. I just think it is a fun community event where creatively we grow as a nation. Pretty great.

    1. Thank you for the kind words. I try to teach my kids that creating is better than consuming. Unfortunately, American’s are taught to be consumers, if all you do is consume, what kind of mark will you leave? Nothing but waste.

      If you create something, no matter how ugly, you leave behind something for others to enjoy (hopefully), or at worse, something for others to make better.

  2. How great that you’re all doing it together! Family write in! Love it 🙂 I’ve thought about building one of those desks over a treadmill things. That way I can write or read while walking! Writing, reading, and building web sites, the three things I do most, all require lots of sitting. And I’m a snacker. I drink a lot of water, which helps, but I hear ya on the candy thing. We need to find ways to keep moving and stay healthy!

What's on your mind?

