Book Review: Tripwire by Lee Child

Book Review: Tripwire by Lee Child

Rating: 5/10

And the Jack Reacher marathon continues with book 3. I am in full stride in my attempt to get up to date on the Jack Reacher series by Lee Child and I am only disappointing that I did not do this earlier. I will start wit a comparison to the first two books. Killing Floor may have been my favorite, but I think the first person narrative took away from the impact of the story, while the third person perspective in the other books gave them more excitement. Die Trying currently holds the title of my favorite Reacher book, while Tripwire was good, it fell just short.

Book Description:

Jack Reacher, ex-military policeman relaxed in Key West until Costello turned up dead. The amiable PI was hired in New York by the daughter of Reacher’s mentor and former commanding officer, General Garber. Garber’s investigation into a Vietnam MIA sets Reacher on collision with hand-less “Hook” Hobie, hours away from his biggest score.

tripwire_coverMy overall opinion of this book was that the plot was thin. I think this is a credit to the skill of Lee Child to tell a story, because it is his character building and descriptive narrative that made this book good, not the plot. If I had wrote this plot down it would have become a short story.

Lee takes Jack into a new world with this book, and I am not talking just about New York City. For the first time in the three books Jack Reacher starts to feel attached to his “bond girl” counter parts. He was close to Roscoe in Killing Floor, just not close enough to stick around, and Holly was never more than a damsel in distress in Die Trying. So it was good to see him actually care for Jody.

One aspect of Tripwire that I really liked was the connection to Vietnam. The tragedy that so many endured because of that war hurts the soul, and I thought Lee Child did a masterful job of showing that in the characters of the Hobes, Nash Newman and the other service members he comes in contact with. No fiction story can relay the depth of sorrow families of POW/MIA go through, but I think this one came close enough.

I am really enjoying this series of books and can’t wait to see where Reacher ends up next. I hope he eventually starts to work in some official capacity either with law enforcement, military or as a private detective. Having him stumble into situations for 18 books will get a bit hard to believe (if he does and you know, please don’t tell me yet).

Until next time…

What's on your mind?

