#NaNoWriMo Day 13

40k words in 12 days. Yup, you read that right, I wrote 40, 404 words in 12 days. Wait, I did that? The guy that has never written a story longer than 10k words before? Wow. If I can do it, so can you!

nanowrimo_day12On top of being within 10k words of hitting the NaNoWriMo goal, I had a ton of fun writing the last 4k words. I have managed to put into action the antagonists plot, put the prince in danger and place my blacksmith in position to get involved. I also changed the gender of one of my characters.

OK, not in the story, but in my manuscript. I had a minor side character that is starting to play a bigger role (sound familiar?). Then I thought about and realized there was a lot of testosterone in my story and not enough estrogen, so I changed this side character to a girl and I was floored about how much better the character is now. If I ever reveal the character as the one that was a guy but I rewrote as a girl, the two people that read my book will be shocked.

Killing_Joke-jokerI also had another new experience in writing. I felt sick writing as the antagonist. What a dirt bag, slime ball this guy is, I really hate him. If my two readers hate him half as much as I do, then I would call that a success. How do writers write these truly evil characters? I almost felt dirty for writing the thoughts I wrote. Have you ever written a truly evil character that made you feel bad for writing such ideas down? I mean, my antagonist is trying to over throw a king, he needs to scheme and conspire to get the job done. It just made me feel like a slime ball for coming up with the plan. I could not image what it was like to try and think like the Joker when writing Killing Joke, he was pure evil in that graphic novel.

Every day of NaNoWriMo is bringing new and exciting experiences with it. I can’t wait to see what tonight brings. NaNo on my friends.

Until next time…

12 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo Day 13

  1. CONGRATS on the 40k words! Wow!

    As for the writing in the voice of someone truly evil, yes I have done that. I entered a dark place and would write and write. I didn’t feel dirty but on some level became that character. The tricky part for me was shaking out of it.

    The best part is when you get to kill off the evil character. I LOVED that part! 😉

      1. I had fun killing off my baddie at the end of my book. I took great pleasure in seeing my baddie stripped of everything and then killed. Think Bad Willow skinning Warren in Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Wicked! 🙂

        You could always take the approach Batman does with the Joker. He suffers his own torment. 🙂

        Good luck and can’t wait to read more! 🙂

  2. Way to go! Congrats! And your story sounds awesome! 😀
    I’m also writing for the NaNoWriMo, but am no where near where I need to be, though I’ve been doing better at writing then I have in a while, and think I’ve finally broken through my Writers Block that’s been stumping me for so long.

  3. congratulations!
    your story sounds so compelling, I just can’t ignore a good baddie…weird? joker is actually one of my favorite characters 😛
    keep up th good work maybe we’ll celebrate an early win together 😀

    1. Don’t get me wrong, I love reading a well written bad guy, Joker being at the top of my list. I just don’t think I appreciated what it was like to write someone that evil before. Alan Moore has even more of my respect now.

What's on your mind?

