@NaNoWriMo Day 19

gadget_searchToday is November 19th, do you know where your story is?

OK, I know, more than likely it’s on a computer hard drive, cloud server or a flash drive. You may even have it on your phone, tablet or, here comes the shocker… paper. What I’m asking though is, do you know where your story is in relation to your plot outline or (for my pantser friends) plot concept.

I’m scared to look at the outline that I created and fine tuned over the weeks prior to November 1st, I don’t think a third of it made it into the actual story. I had a character that was supposed to get kidnapped to spur my hero into action, instead she’s going to rescue the villain. The same villain that was supposed to be surrounded by klingons (not the trekkie type, the mooch type) and instead he’s a loner who turns out to be not such a bad guy… so far.

Then I think of my plot outline and I think, I might be a third of the way into the story or I could be halfway, I’m not sure at the moment. So I’ve essentially lost my story. I have a half dozen scenes to write planned out and then I think I’ll need to find my place in the story outline and make sure I am actually working toward a conclusion.

If you outlined prior to November, is your story sticking to that outline? Have you had the experience of realizing that no one in your story does what you want them to?

I would like to mention a little friendly competition I’m involved in. The blogger seekingsomepeace has finished her NaNoWriMo goal of 50k, awesome job by the way, and is going to race me to 80k. I placed a word war counter under the NaNoWriMo blogger list. I needed a competitive push to get more of this story written faster and I thank her for providing that.

I would also like to brag for a moment. My daughter Samantha, who attempted NaNoWriMo last year and is the reason the whole family is doing NaNoWriMo this year, finished her 50k!!!! She did a great job finishing early and is putting the last words down on her first draft so her story will be completely told in a day or two. I’m so proud of the effort she put into this.

My other two girls, my wife and younger daughter, are both doing wonderful work also. It looks like our household will be adding four books to the world in the near future. Scary thought, I know, but still pretty cool.

So keep up the good work everyone!

Until next time…

4 thoughts on “@NaNoWriMo Day 19

  1. I don’t outline before the first draft. I know that the story will go where it wants, so I put down what goals the MC is striving for, maybe some other characters that either want to help or hinder, just enough info so that I know what the story is about, and then just write. After I finish the first draft is when I make an outline of it all to make it easier to edit. 🙂

    1. I may have to try outlining less on my next story. All though outlining did give me a good understanding of the direction I wanted to go. I guess it is another case of half dozen in one hand and six in the other.

    1. Thank you Dawn. Blogs like yours are one of the reasons I am doing this well. I read lot of blogs and it helps me refine my process and, in my opinion, is one of the reasons I am doing as well as I am.

What's on your mind?

