@NaNoWriMo Day 20

2/3 of NaNoWriMo is over with, only 10 days left.Last night I hit 60k on my manuscript and I feel like I am starting to see how the players are villaingoing to get into place for the climax, this is exciting stuff. I will tell you more about what happened in my story in a moment.

First, I would like to extend a congratulations to all the NaNoWriMo winners out there, I have seen a lot of celebrating already and it is exciting. It is one of the motivating factors for me, to see others having fun makes me want to be a part of it.

Secondly, I would like to encourage all of you hitting the home stretch. The goal is within reach. Several of my writing buddies are above par and hitting their daily goals, it is awesome watching you all achieving your goals. What you are doing is not easy, most people never make it this far. The percentage of people that make a goal, stick to it and then achieve that goal is sadly small, but you are among the elite few. Keep up the good work and I look forward to celebrating your 50k with you.

But enough about you, let’s talk about me 🙂

My story is solidly in the middle phase. I have characters all over the kingdom trying to either complete their dastardly plan, secure the kingdom, find love or get life restored to normal. Lives have been lost, good people have been imprisoned and the bad guys feel like they are winning. Through all that, I am seeing the pieces fall into place for the final conflict that will end the book. Then, out of nowhere, my villain changes his plans on me. Don’t you hate it when that happens? Actually, I loved it.

So the villain was traveling to his destination with an army and a small group of mercenaries. Then he sent the mercenaries away. Wait a second, the lead merc was supposed to fight the hero in the climax, why is he leaving? Then it hit me, ooooohhhhhh, that villain is good, isn’t he? His plan changed and it is going to result in a much better climatic battle at the end. Now I can’t wait to get back to writing and see this play out.

Until next time…

What's on your mind?

