@NaNoWriMo Day 21

#NaNoWriMo 2013: 10 Days left

nanowrimo2This is it writers, we are down to the last 10 days of NaNoWriMo 2013. It was 20 days ago that we started this amazing adventure and now we are down the to the last third. To be on pace to win you should be at 35k by the end of the day.

It seems like it has been longer than 20 days since the writing began. I remember the excitement of that first weekend. I could feel the story ideas building up in my head with such pressure, I was afraid November wasn’t going to start in time to contain it. Then it started and it was so much fun to put those first words onto (metaphorical) paper.

Then week two started and I was so scared I wasn’t going to finish in time that I pushed myself to write, and to write often. Then at the halfway point I hit the goal of 50k. I have no idea how that happened, it was a bit of a shock for me. But there it was, 50k words of my story. Then it hit me, the story wasn’t done.

So week three started with concern that if I didn’t finish the story in November, would I be able to carry the excitement into December and see it through? So I got a renewed sense of urgency to finish the story, and little healthy competition with seekingsomepeace, and now I am at 62k words in 20 days.

So I head into the last 10 days with several goals to accomplish. I would like to hit 80k by Day 25, hoping that pushes my friend to do the same. I would then like to hit 100k by Day 30. Having 100k words written of the story should carry me to finish it in December. It would be against my nature to allow that much hard work to go to waste.

So, what’s your plan? Will you get to write “The End” before November 30th or will you need more time to get to that point? Then what will you do with your story? I think it is important to keeping setting new goals every time you accomplish your current ones.

As we head into the last 10 days of NaNoWriMo let me ask one more thing of you. Go to the blogs on my NaNoWriMo blogger list and offer your words of encouragement or congratulations as needed. Lisen Minetti has offered a humorous way of presenting her adventure, she wrote letters to NaNoWriMo and then from NaNoWriMo… very well done. Donna has over came illness and distractions and is nearing her goal of 50k, stop by and cheer her on. Of course there is seekingsomepeace, who hit her goal and is looking to get to “The End” soon. I know hearing form all of you has helped me and it will help them also.

And if you are not on my blogging list and are nearing your NaNoWriMo goal, let me say, Good Job. It has been a battle to get to this point, and we still have a couple of more battles to fight to get to “The End”, so now is not the time to stop.

Until next time…

4 thoughts on “@NaNoWriMo Day 21

  1. EEP!! Why do you have to remind me!! I’m in the hardest part of my book, tying in the first 2/3s to the last 1/3…. /when in doubt run in circles, scream and shout!

    Ok… done running in circles now. I hit the 50K with ease this month, but as you said, the story isn’t done there. When I get home tonite I’ll be writing for sure. I won’t be writing “The End” because this is the 2nd book of a trilogy, and it won’t be the end of their story ( looks pointedly to the last paragraph that will be the end of this book ).

  2. I was really falling behind, but in the past three days I’ve written about 14k. 🙂 Still need to work hard to catch up though. And my story doesn’t look like it’s going to be much longer than maybe 30k, but I’m still having fun with it. I also had to skip a portion of it in chapter 6-8, so maybe when I go back to that and add in those, I’ll be able to bring it up some more.

  3. Thanks so much for your encouragement. You have been a real inspiration to me. Even when I complained to my daughter that your word count made mine look weak, I was determined to hang in there and show you that if I can’t write 100k, I can at least write 50k of my novel and complete the challenge… 800 more words to reach 35k… and I have all evening to write another 1000 words.

What's on your mind?

