@NaNoWriMo Day 22

#NaNoWriMo 2013: 9 Days left

dog messWe are rounding the final turn of NaNoWriMo. This will be our last full weekend of writing. Next week we have the opportunity to start verifying our word counts and, for those that have 50k+ words, get the winner’s badge. I can feel the excitement building, if only my story had the same feeling.

My story is moving along, a bit slower than I would like. I feel like I am walking through a swamp. Each step forward is taking more and more effort, but I refuse to give in. My story is a fantasy story with swords, kings and treachery. I know how I want it to end, I know what battles will need to be fought, I am just having trouble getting the players in place to fight those battles.

I feel like the time frame is unrealistic. The geography doesn’t add up and people appear in one place while they should be somewhere else. I so very badly want to site down and organize the story so that I know where everyone is and when they were there. Then figure out how long it would take for them to travel so that things happen in each locations simultaneously. But that would take a lot of time and I still have tens of thousands of words to write.

So I am going to continue forward toward that finish line, hoping I don’t leave too big of a mess behind me and that I can clean it up later. Someone please tell me the clean up is as much fun as making the mess?

Until next time…

5 thoughts on “@NaNoWriMo Day 22

  1. I find I can’t move my story along unless I do some clean up. I was lucky in that my story flowed and I was able to get my 50K done quickly, but it’s this last third of the story. So I sat down for 2 days ( well nights, and what time I could steal at work ) and drew out maps of where things needed to be. Then I came to the realization that you did. It would slow the story down way too much if travel were “realistic”.

    My solution? I figured, it’s my fantasy world, so make something possible that isn’t possible in our realm. What was a 5 day trip suddenly was taken in 2 1/2, which I didn’t need to chronicle every step they took, just fast forward to some pieces I needed for my story. Is that something that you can do? Since I don’t know your story, it is only a suggestion.

    As for clean up? Well I’m very much looking forward to the clean up. 🙂

  2. How’s the family going on their word counts? The clean up is rough but I like the way a teacher at storymakers described the process. The drafting and writing process are right brain, creative, exciting. The editing and redrafting are very left brain, so depending on how you lean depends on how much you resist which part. A writing group has helped me a lot with the editing of my last book but still lots of work to do.

  3. I think the clean up, while maybe not as much fun, isn’t as painful as the first draft can be. There is usually for me, enough that I love and enough in the sense of accomplishment, that fixing it feels more like a labor of love than walking through a swamp. Don’t forget about beta readers! After you’ve given it a once or twice over, pass it off to some people who can give you valuable feedback and point out spots to fix up. Then, keep polishing until that baby shines!

What's on your mind?

