@NaNoWriMo Day 25 – WINNER!

#NaNoWriMo 2013: 6 Days left

blacksmith_milani_winnerToday those that have completed the NaNoWriMo goal of 50,000 words can verify their word count. I hit my goal on November 15th and have tasted the first rewards for my hard work, and they are good. It feels good to accomplish something. It is one of the basics of human existence, we like to feel a sense of accomplishment.

So for all of those that have hit 50k – CONGRATULATIONS!

For me though, the adventure is not over with yet. I hit 73k words this weekend and estimate I need another 30k-50k words to finish my fist draft. It may not be done by Saturday, but I will have it done by Christmas. Even when I do get to the end of the 1st draft, my adventure will still be in the early stages. I will need to move on to all the other exciting stages that an author needs to go through in order to get their story to the point it can be shared with the world.

For those still working toward your goal of 50k, you can do it. Honestly, if a novice like I can do it, so can you. I know we have some big family events planned this week, but make a commitment to yourself that you will give your writing the time it needs this week to hit that goal. I promise you, it is worth it. It feels so good to see “winner” next to your NaNoWriMo novel. You will be glad you pushed to the finish line.

Also, for my friends that fell just short of the 50k, or had other things that prevented you from achieving the goal this year, don’t let that stop you from writing your story. You read my blog and signed up to NaNoWriMo for a reason, you have a story inside you that you want to share. So keep writing. Make every month NoWriMo until you get that story written.

2013-Winner-Vertical-BannerI look forward to the day I can share my story with you all, because of that, I still feel motivated to keep writing it. I am excited to get in front of my computer, load Scrivener and watch as the story unfolds. Speaking of my story, I had a funny thing happen to me this weekend. So, tell me I’m not crazy and this has happened to you… I lost a character. Yup, one second she is along side the prince entering a city and then the next scene she was no were to be found. Worst yet, the prince left the city to go back to her home town and she was still missing. I was about to fall asleep after a long day of writing and I started moaning in agony, my wife asked me what was wrong and I said “I lost a character.” She laughed. So the next day I sat down, went through the two scenes and wrote her back in. I feel better now that all my characters are accounted for.

Writing never stops amazing me. I wonder if Stephen King ever lost a character.

Until next time…

7 thoughts on “@NaNoWriMo Day 25 – WINNER!

  1. Lost her? poor thing, she must have been so scared 🙂
    Anyway, congratulations on the winner title. It was so pleasant to see it on my account so I hear you.
    We still have stories to finish though 🙂
    I can’t wait to read your story, good luck.

What's on your mind?

