@NaNoWriMo Day 30 – The End

Today is the last day of NaNoWriMo, that is so sad. I have had so much fun this month. Discovering that I can write something the length of which I have, nearly 90k words so far. I also discovered an amazing community of writers, you all rock.

2013-Winner-Facebook-Cover

I also had the joy of participating with my family. My wife and oldest daughter both hit the 50k goal, my youngest got close and plans to finish in December. It is amazing to see them find the joy of creating art.

I want to thank all the great people that work at the Office of Letters and Light. NaNoWriMo is an amazing event and it has made a difference in the lives of so many. Keep up the good work and I pray God blesses you with much success.

Today is the day to celebrate. There are three groups of people in the world today. Those that completed their NaNoWriMo goal and now have 50,000+ words written on their first draft manuscript, congratulations! The second are those that participating in NaNoWriMo and for whatever reason did not get 50k words written, good job giving a try and I would encourage you to not give up just because November is done, keep writing. The third are the ones I feel sorry for, they didn’t even try. Maybe they don’t want to write, and that is ok, but they missed out on so much fun.

If you are in either of the first two groups, I want to hear about your experience with NaNoWriMo. Leave me a comment with your favorite moment from NaNoWriMo, a lesson your learned or maybe, some epiphony you had while participating. Let us celebrate this together.

I will start.

I think my single most amazing discovery during NaNoWriMo 2013 is that the characters we, as writers, create, have a life of their own. We give them a personality and a history, but once we put them in a situation or scene, they tend to do what they want and it does not always match what we want. Along with that, it was amazing to see how, even if I planned out a scene and knew what I wanted to get out of it, once I placed the needed cast of characters in that scene and started writing, you never knew what was going to happen.

Now is your turn to share. I look forward to hearing from each and every one of you. No matter how small you think your experience was, I want to hear about it. If you need to write another 10k words to explain it, go ahead, I don’t think the comments have a word limit.

As always, until next time…

5 thoughts on “@NaNoWriMo Day 30 – The End

  1. Hello mike, Congrats for the end of NaNo.
    Please send my congratulations to your wife and daughter 🙂
    I think my favorite moments in NaNo, shockingly almost the same as yours, are when my characters rebelled on me. They developed their own voices and went their own ways despite my plans.
    Another thing I enjoyed about NaNo is the community.
    I found support, sharing beautiful moments and most of all people that simply enjoy the ability to tell stories using the written language.
    You could say, I found people I know they can relate to my problems and the difficulty of life when you attempt a huge project such as a novel.
    Congratulations to all NaNowers out there, whether they won or not, at least they tried 🙂

What's on your mind?

