The @NaNoWriMo Hangover

dog_hangoverI just figured it out. This is what a NaNoWriMo hangover feels like. I have seen this effect on other bloggers around WordPress and I know now that I am not alone.

It all started on December 1st. I had an amazing run during the 30 days of November, racking up 88k+ words and having a ton of fun doing it. I knew that my story was not done, but it was close enough that I could see the end as it approached. Then all momentum was zapped out of me.

Yes, life happens and with Christmas coming up fast more life started getting in the way, but how did this happen? One day at a time has pasted me by and I have failed to get words down on my scrivener file. To top it all off now, next week I have to get a root canal… ya, I know, lucky me šŸ™‚

Now that I have identified the culprit I can now formulate a plan to over come it. I need to attack this manuscript with the same intensity I had in November. I have plotted out the ending for the story and I am hoping that will carry me through to the end. This weekend I have some free time to try and do this, if not, next week will be my last chance before Christmas.

So wish me luck and I hope everyone else suffering from NaNoWriMo hangover finds their groove and puts it behind them.

Until next time…

5 thoughts on “The @NaNoWriMo Hangover

  1. I feel the same way. I think it’s important to stay in a routine. It’s easy to stop writing after NaNoWriMo, but the point of that event is to teach writers how to get into a good routine and how to maximize their time. Good post. Keep it up!

  2. Ah yes, the hangover. It happens to a lot of writers. Trust me, I understand. I had that happen when I was writing like mad and then moved. I took a small break from writing and at first I was frustrated. I mean, what happened? I would sit at my computer and nothing would come out. But then I gave myself permission to take a mini vacation. It was the best thing I could do. I allowed my mind to recharge and I think that is what you might need. šŸ™‚ I think if you give your mind a chance to reboot, ideas and words will come flying out of you before you know it. Hope this helps and Merry Christmas to you and your family! šŸ™‚

What's on your mind?

