Goals for 2014

Happy-New-Year-Wishes- 2014-Red-Dice-HD-Wallpapers-With-Greetings-MessagesHere we are, 2014 starts tomorrow, and I believe it is going to be another amazing year. ย 2013 will end with me having taken some big steps to pursue a dream to be a published author and in 2014, I will get even closer.

I want to take this time to make public a list of goals for 2014. This goal list, much like this blog, will focus on what I want to accomplish in order to become a published author. I’m not a big fan of resolutions for the new year, I never seem to make those work, so I am setting goals. I also have a list of personal goals that have nothing to with writing, but this is not the place for those, so I will stick to the writing goals for now.

My goal list is broken down to a 1 – 3 – 6 – 12 months format. The goals I place here will be broad and each month I will reevaluate where I am at on the list and adjust as needed. If you can tell, I am a project manager by trade.

1 Month Goal: By February 1, 2014

  • Write a short story in a SiFi series I am messing around with
    • 1st Draft
    • 1st rewrite
  • Begin 1st rewrite of The Blacksmith of Milaniย (my NaNoWriMo project)

3 Month Goal: By April 1, 2014

  • Complete 1st rewrite and submit to editor
  • Begin 1st draft of book 2 of The Kingdom of Milani series
  • Write 2nd short story in SiFi series

6 Month Goal: By July 1, 2014

  • Complete 1st draft of book 2
  • Complete 2nd rewrite of The Blacksmith of Milani
  • Write 3rd and 4th short story in SiFi series

12 Month Goal: By January 1, 2015

  • Submit The Blacksmith of Milani to agents
  • Attend a writing conference
  • Read 50 books for Goodreads challenge
    • Read 12 “classic” books as a part of the challenge

This will be an exciting year for me and my family. I am thankful for 2013 and hopeful for 2014. Only God knows what will happen in the coming year, but I welcome you all to come along for the ride.

snoopy_happy_new_year

Until next time…

9 thoughts on “Goals for 2014

    1. Thank you Mrs N. I will need my leading cheerleader to stay on me this year. These goals have been posted publicly so you can hold me accountable to stay on track.

      Happy New Year to you and your family, God bless.

  1. I like the goals. A lot. I keep saying I’m going to revise my book from Nano, but the strangest thing happened – it doesn’t need as much work as I thought! Could I be – gasp! – getting better at writing? Have a great New Year and all the best for 2014!!

    1. I have no doubt, with the determination you hit NaNo with this year, that you are getting better. I can’t wait till I get to that point, my manuscript needs a lot of work.

    1. Better not just watch. If you don’t see me progressing, feel free to yell at me. I will need you all to kick me in the can when I need it. Happy New Year DJ ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Happy new year Mike ๐Ÿ™‚
    That’s a great set of goals, I hope you get them all accomplished and more.
    May God bring you happiness and wisdom, and a of course help you get that book published, I will be waiting to read it.
    Have a lovely year 2014 ๐Ÿ™‚

What's on your mind?

