Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Rating: 8/10

What a fun and original story Marissa Meyer crafted in Cinder. I was hooked from the beginning and enjoyed the entire ride. First, let me dispel the idea that this is a retelling of Cinderella. Although there are elements of the classic fairy tale, the story line is very different. The funny part was that I kept waiting for it to follow the old story line, and Marissa puts in just enough to remind you her story was inspired by the original, but she puts a ton of twists in. I was kept guessing about some of the twists, others I thought I figured out but was happy with how they played out.

I felt the ending was a bit sudden. Clearly Marissa knew she was writing a multiple book series and decided to end the book in a cliffhanger. I would have like to see Cinder’s tale given an ending for this book. Not that I was left disappointed with the ending, it was just that there could have been another chapter or two to wrap things up and Marissa leaves it. Good thing I wasn’t reading this as it was originally released and I get to jump right into Scarlet.

Here is the book synopsis from Amazon:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

I will definitely be moving on to Scarlett, and more than likely, all the other books in the series. I would recommend Cinder to Sci-fi and dystopian future fans. The story is appropriate for all age groups and I appreciate that Marissa did it that way.

Well, off to start reading Scarlet.

until next time…

What's on your mind?

