Guest Blogger Author N. N. Light

Author PictureI first wanted to thank Mike for having me on his blog today to celebrate the release tomorrow of my book, Princess of the Light. I first encountered Mike when he started following my blog almost a year ago. He and I share a love of writing.

Last November, Mike participated in NaNoWriMo and even though I didn’t take part, I encouraged him the whole month. As a fellow writer, I strongly believe in cheering others on.

Okay, in my own Walter Cronkite voice, on with the interview:

1. What idea did you start with for your story?

Before I started writing Princess of the Light, I knew that I wanted to write about a strong female. I have been influenced by people like Joss Whedon who believe in the power of a strong female lead. I knew that I wanted my female MC to fulfill her destiny and to help others.

But it wasn’t until I ran into a homeless man in my own neighborhood that it all fell into place. I live in a suburban area and I take a morning walk every day. One day I was minding my own business and I happened to see a homeless man sitting on the curb. What intrigued me was that he wasn’t begging for money or holding up a sign. He was sitting on the curb with his eyes closed, a look of peace etched across his weathered face.

I wondered what he was thinking and what happened in his life to become homeless. I saw him every day for three weeks and each time I wondered about him. He didn’t beg and generally avoided contact with people. He just walked. I started calling him the Walking Man.

The more I watched him, the more I wanted to help him. An idea came into my head. What if I could help him? What if he had lost all hope in people and was being haunted by a demon? Without even realizing it, Princess of the Light was born.

2. Do you have a favorite memory from your writing adventure?

My fondest memory was when I was in the middle of writing the final battle scene. I had all the various characters talking in my head. I was walking to meet my husband for dinner and I was trying to work out the battle scene between Miriam and a demon. Being a hands-on writer, I was walking down the street acting out the movements. It was hilarious and such fun! I bet the cars driving by thought I was crazy.

3. Did you receive any critiques about your story that pointed to problems you needed to correct? and how did you handle it?

Yes, I was nearing the final battle scene when my critique partner mentioned a huge plot hole. I had forgotten about the Walking Man and his story arc. At first, I freaked out. But then I brainstormed for a day and came up with a solution.

Before writing this book, I was horrible dealing with criticism. But the writing process has taught me the value of constructive criticism. Now when I receive a critique about my writing, I don’t react right away. I let it percolate for a few days and then go back to it. More times than not, those critiques make me a better writer.

4. Was it difficult to stop editing your story and call it done?

Not really. When I read it for the final time, it flowed perfectly and I knew that it was done.

5. What are you hoping your readers take away from your story?

There is a strong message in my book. It’s all about being kind to others and spreading the Light. I’m a firm believer in the Golden Rule and no matter what you believe, being kind to others changes lives. We all have the ability to make our own little corner of the world better. Together we can flood the world with Light.

I also wanted to mention that part of the proceeds of Princess of the Light will go straight to food banks and other programs to help people like the Walking Man. My goal is to make sure that everyone has food to eat.

6. What are your future plans for your writing?

I have a loose outline for the next four books in the Princess of the Light series. I have started writing book two and I can guarantee it will knock people’s socks off!

Other than that, I continue to write inspirational blog posts on my blog.


princessTitle: Princess of the Light

Author: N. N. Light

Blurb:

Mary Miller never thought much about destiny until God’s Archangel and Messenger, Gabriel, appears. Gabriel reveals she is destined to vanquish Darkness by spreading the Light and she has a revelation: she is the key.

Her first assignment is to restore the soul of a homeless man known only as the Walking Man. She’s thrust face to face with evil all the while losing her heart to her new love, Joe Deacons. Can she win the battle the Lord placed her in without losing all she loves?

Excerpt Link: http://princessofthelight.wordpress.com/2014/08/22/princess-of-the-light-excerpt-prologue/

Buy Links:

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/469480

Amazon: Purchase Here

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23009005-princess-of-the-light

Author Bio:

N. N. Light was born in Minnesota, lived in Southern California only to move to chilly Ontario, Canada to marry her beloved husband MR N.

She is blissfully happy and loves all things chocolate, books, music, movies, art, sports and baking.

Most of the time you can find her on Twitter or getting new ideas on how to spread the Light on Pinterest.

I’d love to connect with you either via email or via these various social media sites:

Blog: http://princessofthelight.wordpress.com

Goodreads: N. N. Light

Twitter: @NNP_W_Light

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/nnlight

Email: nnlight@outlook.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/PrincessOTLight

3 thoughts on “Guest Blogger Author N. N. Light

What's on your mind?

