What do I like about being a writer?

book_of_fantasySeeing as how I just passed one year on my blog about writing, I thought I would examine why I like to write. You see, I have always been a creative person. As far back as I can remember I was creating things. I grew up with a family of race fans. In upstate New York with had D.I.R.T. racing and these cars had awesome paint jobs on them. I did a lot of drawing and designing my own paint schemes for race cars. It really got the imagination going.

Then I was introduced to Dungeons and Dragons. That’s when I learned about world building. I would create whole kingdoms for my friends and I to adventure in. You can probably guess it, but I was the Dungeon Master most of the time. I took on the challenge of creating the most dangerous, detailed, and fun environment for my friends to adventure in.

Then there were board games. Not always happy with the ones I could find, I made my own. I once transformed a Stratego set into a Marvel super hero Stratego game. The whole time I was still creating things.

No wonder that I took to comic books in middle school and high school. I would draw comics and write my own. I had millions of story ideas I wanted to share with others, limited only by the fact that I had no way of publishing them myself. This was probably the first time I tried writing stories, I just did them with the idea of drawing the comics to go with them.

It wasn’t until about 10 years ago that I tried just writing a story. I had no idea what I was doing, I just tried to tell a story. It was horrible of course, but man was it fun. I was also discouraged again by the fact there was little chance I would be able to publish the story and share it with others. Vanity presses were just getting started and they were well out of my price range. I also heard the horror stories about how hard it was to get an agent, let alone to find a publisher for your story. So I moved on to other creative things like graphic design and web development.

It as about two years ago that I watched as my daughter Samantha really got serious about writing her own story. 2012 was the first time she attempted NaNoWriMo. It was so cool to see her writing, that it inspired me to reconsider doing it myself. It took time for me to work up the courage to try it again, in fact it was not until NaNoWriMo 2013 that I actually took it seriously.

Over the last year I have learned a lot about writing. I have read a lot about writing, and I feel, I have gotten a lot better at writing. I have a first draft manuscript of nearly 100k words that tells a story I can’t wait to share with others. I am about halfway through re-writing it and putting into practice the things I have learned the last year. I have also published a book about what I learned during NaNoWriMo 2013, How To Write 50,000 Words In 30 Days.

I think that is one of the biggest differences between 10 years ago and today. The ability to publish myself, for little to no cost, makes it possible for me to share my stories. I hold no delusion that I’ll become rich and famous through publishing, but it does allow me to make my stories available for peopel to read. And that brings me back to the title of this post. What do I like about being a writer? I like to share my stories with others. In the past, whenever I was being creative, it was to share something with others. From my race car pictures that I would show my family, to the D&D adventures I would create for my friends. From the comic books to the fiction stories. All along I wanted to create something that I could share with others.

Though I never had a race car painted in my designs, never had a D&D module published of my content, a comic was never published that I wrote or drew, I never stopped wanting to create and share. It was the incredible technology of the internet and digital books that has finally made it possible for me to do this. I would want nothing more than to publish my manuscript now and share the story of a blacksmith names Deran with you all. Luckily I have family that loves me enough to remind me to wait until the story is at least grammatically correct before publishing it. there are also plot holes and messed up dialogue to fix before I publish. Because, no matter how much I can’t wait for others to read my story, I want it to be a good story even more.

So, what do you like about being a writer? Where does your passion for story telling come from? And if you like to create stories to share with others, and you don’t write for some reason, let me encourage you to give it a try.

Until next time…

One thought on “What do I like about being a writer?

What's on your mind?

