Doing things differently for #NaNoWriMo 2014

Too-Many-QuestionsAs #NaNoWriMo 2014 approaches I’m realizing that things are going to be different this year. Last year my blog was newer, I started it in September, and I had no other writing projects going. This year, I am rewriting my NaNo2013 manuscript, working on a short story project and now a NaNo manuscript. There are only so many hours in the day I can use for writing.

The good news is that last year I had no idea what it would be like or what it would take to write 50k in 30 days. Not only do I know, I wrote a book about it.

I would like to blog each day about my NaNo progress, like I did last year, but just thinking about it makes me nervous. I’m confident that I can focus on my manuscript and hit my word count goal each day. It’s the other projects, along with blogging, that I don’t know if I can keep up with.

In any event, I like reading how everyone is doing during NaNo, and sharing my progress gives me some accountability, so I will plan to blog my progress. If I miss a day here and there, don’t worry, I’ll be back as soon as I come up for air from the keyboard.

One last thing. I have been seeing a lot of bloggers declaring their participation in NaNo2014, this is awesome. With each blogger I read entering it makes me more and more excited for November to start. If you are still on the fence, get in the game! There are no losers during NaNoWriMo. Sign up, participate and you win no matter what, writing the 50k in 30 days is just a bonus.

Until next time…

6 thoughts on “Doing things differently for #NaNoWriMo 2014

  1. Since your book got me off my butt to do NaNoWriMo again this year, you have to therefore blog about your experience. it’s not fair to me if you don’t. And I am very selfish.
    Seriously, I now can’t decide between two projects I want to do, so I may end up working on two totally different pieces in November. And blogging. How’s THAT for a challenge!

  2. Hey hey,

    A few weeks ago you entered a contest on my blog and won! Your prize = a signed copy of my short story The Coin Collector. Woo! Please email me (michellishelli@gmail.com) your mailing address so I can ship you your prize!

    Thanks,
    Michelle

What's on your mind?

