#NaNoWriMo Update: Day 8

Hello everyone, I hope everyone is having a good time with NaNoWriMo 2014. It has been a lot of fun so far for me. The story I am writing has been a real challenge and has allowed me to be creative.

losing-race1I’m finding it harder this year to keep up with my word count. After day 7 this year I am at 9,037, while last year I was at 24,315 after day 7. The funny part is that I am finding this story to be easier to write. My only thought is that maybe I’m not feeling the same pressure to get the words done as last year.

I can remember last year being worried I wouldn’t get to the goal until I hit 50k words. Even when I was halfway to the goal in the first week, I was still terrified something would come up and I wouldn’t make it. This year, I have more confidence because I did it before. Maybe that confidence is preventing me from attacking my word counts as much as I did last year.

This weekend I am going to push myself to get ahead of the goals. Not sure I can get to the level I was last year, but I’m going to try.

Well, time to get some words done. How is NaNo going for you? Maybe hearing how your word counts are going can help spur me into action. I am a competitive person by nature after all. Maybe I should count the 263 words I wrote in this post towards my daily goal, that would help.

Until next time…

2 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo Update: Day 8

  1. I’m going around the same speed as you — just trying to hit par every day. Considering I’ve failed the last three years in a row, I’m pretty pleased that I haven’t given up yet, lol. Happy writing!

  2. That’s awesome. We are having a similar experience this year. I just finished 25322 word count on a book that is very different than anything I have ever done before. I have more characters. There are darker sections involving a character being abused that have been tough to write but I have learned a lot from writing it. Good luck as you continue on the challenge!

What's on your mind?

