#NaNoWriMo 2014 Winner!

Hello December! Was it just me or did November fly by like an SR-71 Blackbird? I accepted the National Novel Writing Month challenge of writing 50,000 words in 30 days, and I needed everyone of those 30 days to do it, but I did it.

Winner-2014-Web-Banner

Last year, I completed the challenge on day 15, and finished the month with 88,000 words. So why did I have so much trouble this year? Over confident. I think that was my problem. Last year I didn’t think I could do it and I attacked the challenge with fierce determination. This year, I kept telling myself that I could pout it on at anytime, and then never really did.

My advice, don’t do what I just did. Attack your word count daily and do as many words as you can early in the month. It was so much more stressful this year. After day 4 I never saw my word count go above the goal for that day. It made for a much more exhausting experience. I kind of felt like Rocky Balboa after he won his first title:

I DID IT!

Yo, NaNo! I DID IT!

In the end, I still have about 10k words to write in order to finish the story. I met some great writers in my area by attending the pre-NaNo get together, and the opening night write-a-thon. I want to thank everyone for their support and cheering me on.

Well, time to get to those remaining words. Then on to editing. I hope everyone had a fun and exciting NaNoWriMo and I look forward to hearing all about it.

Until next time…

4 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo 2014 Winner!

What's on your mind?

