It’s December Already?

fc,550x550,blackSo I awoke from a #NaNoWriMo induced haze to discover it’s December 7th. That first week went by fast, and I realized I hadn’t updated my blog in far too long. If you were concerned, you can see that I am in fact alive, and still writing.

NaNoWriMo 2014 was a success, just not as well as I had hoped. It took me the entire 30 days to write the 50k words, but I got them done. Now I want to finish the story, about 10k to go, so I can get to the rewrite and editing before the end of January.

Last year I published How To Write 50,000 Words In 30 Days, and survive to tell your story! and Successor, a short story, but I didn’t publish my NaNo2013 story as I had hoped. It turns out that writing epic fantasy for your first novel is a lot harder than I imaged.. go figure. Because of that, I’m determined to finish my NaNo2014 story, polish it, and publish it by May 2015. I think giving myself a deadline to complete each phase will help keep me focused to finish it.

One of the things I did this year for the first time was participated in the NaNoSwap. This was a fun activity during NaNoWriMo where I was matched up with another NaNo participant and we sent each other a gift box. My swap partner sent me an amazing box of goodies, encouragement, and motivation. I will be posting a full article about that later this week.

I did have some other good news last week. Derek Murphy, of Cretivindie.com, held a NaNoWriMo challenge for himself to create 30 covers in 1 day. He asked for NaNoWriMo participants to submit their story summaries and he selected from those submitted to create the covers. My story was selected! You can check out all the covers he made, plus a video of him making them, by going to hisΒ HERE. Derek is an amazing cover designer, marketing, and all around incredible person. He does a lot to support and enrich the independent author movement. If you need a cover for your book, I fully encourage to consider Derek. I will be posting the cover he made for my book in a couple of days.

I hope everyone else had a successful, adventurous, and educational NaNoWriMo. If you wrote a story during NaNoWriMo 2014, and you publish it, please let me know. either leave a comment or send me an email, coville(at)gmail.com, I would love to give you some exposure.

For that fact, if you are publishing your first book in 2015, let me know about that also. I think 2015 is going to be a breakout year for indie authors and I want to do my part to support it. I will offer my humble blog as a platform for any independently published authors, especially debut authors, during the upcoming year. Send me an email with links and information about your book, if I feel my readers would be interested I will be more than happy to tell them all about it. If you send me an epub or mobi version of your story (paperbacks are welcomed if you would like), I’ll do my best to read it and post a review also.

I think it is important for readers and writers to come together to grow this community. If you read a good book, tell everyone you know about it. Word of mouth is the best way to hear about great stories.

Well, I have some writing to do. I hope to be updating my blog more often, now that NaNoWriMo is over. Make sure to mark you calender for Tuesday December 9th, I will be offering my book as part of Read Tuesday for 99 cents. There will be thousands of other discounted books, so make sure you check out their site on Tuesday.

Until next time…

6 thoughts on “It’s December Already?

  1. Congratulations on completing NaNo! You have accomplished so much this year, Mike. Don’t think about what you didn’t do but concentrate on what you did do. Celebrate that simple fact that you did publish your fabulous NaNo tips guide. Many indie authors and NaNo participants cannot say that. πŸ™‚ I love your plan for 2015. πŸ™‚ Good luck with everything and if you need anything, let me know. πŸ™‚

      1. Awww thanks so much! One thing I’ve learned this year is to take every opportunity that comes your way. You never know where it will lead. πŸ™‚ Thank you for your support and I appreciate the word of mouth. πŸ™‚

  2. Congratulations Mike, on completing NaNoWriMo – for the 2nd year in a row! You have certainly given me lots of encouragement along the way… and I hope to self-publish a book sometime in 2015… I would be thrilled to share the links with you, as well as a copy to read and review (I hope you like it)!
    DJM

    1. Thank you. I will be more than happy to read your book and give feedback. I hope you like fantasy stories, because I’m going to be looking for beta readers for my book in a couple of months.

What's on your mind?

