Harry Potter as Epic Fantasy

One of my favorite genre of books to read is epic fantasy. There is just something special abut the grand scope of the story line, the numerous characters you get to know. and the depth of world building that really draws me in.

I recently finished the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. It has to be at the top of any list of great epic fantasy. After 14 books you really feel like you lived a life time in that world.

Moving on from WoT was not going to be easy. I wanted to find another epic fantasy series to lose myself in. I had one criteria, it had to be complete. Having read the first 5 books in the Song of Ice and Fire, I didn’t want to start an epic series that I had no idea when the next book(s) would be published.

My search led me to Harry Potter. I’ll give hard core epic fantasy readers a chance to calm down… did you catch you breath? Now, let me explain. Sure, Harry Potter is known for being a kids series and the books revolve around the adventure of school age kids, but hero’s journey in the series makes it everything an epic fantasy fan looks for. Big story, many characters, and a story progression that makes you feel like you’re going along with the hero.

I’m currently on book 5, The Order of the Phoenix. I did see all the movies before reading the books, but there are enough differences between the two that the books have some nice surprises.

I have some ideas for what epic I’ll tackle next, but I’ll finish this one first.

Until next time…

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter as Epic Fantasy

  1. My mother bought for me Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets when I was about 12 years old, so I could actually say that I grew up with the series. Ah, those were some great times. I actually miss having a new book to look forward to.

    1. My wife and daughter read the books as they came out, but I was reading other books, so I decided to just watch the movies at the time. Which is fun now because as I read the books I can talk to them about it and they get excited as they remember the scenes.
      Also, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child come out July 31. It is being listed as the 8th book in the series, although it is a play and is not written like the other books, it will still tell a continuing story. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29056083-harry-potter-and-the-cursed-child

What's on your mind?

