My Own Worst Enemy

Being completely honest, I’m scared to post my short story Saturday as planned. I’m almost done with it, but I feel it needs a good rewriting before it’s ready for public reading. I still have to work on this so I’ll wait to make that decision until then.

This is a situation I find myself in often when it comes to my writing. I always feel like the story could be better. Just one more revision before I publish it. The problem is a final revision never happens. I always think just one more.

I need to find a way to get confidence that my writing is good enough to let others read. Well, maybe I’ll bite the bullet and just post it as is on Saturday and let you all tell me if it needs more revision.

Until next time…

3 thoughts on “My Own Worst Enemy

  1. Having Beta readers is a very smart route. They will be able to more accurately express whether the story is missing something, or if the questions were not answered or any such complaints readers might have. A fresh pair of eyes are always key to good writing. Also, simply letting a manuscript sit for a period of time which enables you to forget the details sometimes helps. Good luck and looking forward to seeing it.

    1. Good advice. Can I also say, knowing there is someone out there that will be reading it on Saturday does give me a level of accountability to push me to finish. Thank you for commenting.

What's on your mind?

