To Stand Alone, Or To Be A Series?

Recently I looked at reading a new series and when I realized the author was still writing it I put it on my TBR shelf and looked for another series to start. After reading the first five books of a Song of Ice and Fire, then waiting years for book six which still hasn’t come out, I’ve become gun shy of starting a long series that is still in progress. Is that fair to the author though?

As a writer that has plans to publish a series, will it hurt me to number the first book as book one in the series? Would it make a reader feel lied to after reading a book to find out a series is coming?

It’s interesting how I look at books differently ever since I began writing. I read differently. I browse differently. I’ve notice how important a good cover is.

So, the question I would like to put out there for readers and writers is this.

Readers: How do you feel about starting a series on book one not knowing when book two is coming out? If the author gave you a due date, does that increase the chance you would buy it? If you finish a book and are then told it is book one of a series, what is your reaction?

Writers: Do you number book one in a series even before book two is written? If you have published a series, did you find sales of earlier books increase with each new book or do sales of books in a series generally slope down as the series goes along?

Until next time…

One thought on “To Stand Alone, Or To Be A Series?

  1. my fear about books in the series is to read a book and after that finding out that it’s not the first one, won’t happen anymore thanks to Goodreads. 🙂 But a bit more complicated thing is when different series by the title are connected and happen in the same world/universe, and then to know in which order to read them if it matters
    Of course it’s better to know approximately at least when the next book is coming out

What's on your mind?

